Public Health & Other Services

Public health programs in the Greater Quebec City region meet many of the needs of English-speaking people in terms of disease prevention and health promotion. Several community health programs are available in English through Jeffery Hale Community Services.

Also, Jeffery Community Services works with the local public health department on various campaigns (Flu Shots, Breast Cancer, etc.) to help inform the local English-speaking community.

8-1-1 Info-santé

8-1-1 is a great way to get information about health and social services, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. For example, if you are wondering if you should go to an emergency room or a medical clinic, you can speak to a nurse at Info-santé first to help you decide.

There are many reasons to call Info-santé, such as fever, ear aches, vomiting, colds, difficulty sleeping, questions about caring for a child or relative, etc.

This province-wide service is available in both French and English.

9-1-1 Emergency Services

9-1-1 is the fastest way to get help in an emergency (medical, fire, police). In the Greater Quebec City region, however, not every 9-1-1 operator speaks English.

Since the 9-1-1 service is a private, non-profit organization (not public), it is not indicated in the Access Plan to English health and social services. To the best of our knowledge, however, English-speaking people in the Greater Quebec City region who have used 9-1-1 have not reported any problems getting services in English.

Poison Control

1-800-463-5060 is the number for the Quebec Poison Control Centre (Centre antipoison du Québec). This emergency service can be reached toll-free 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, in case of acute poisoning.

They can give you information in both French and English about poisons and their available antidotes. Poisons include medications, plants, or cleaning products that you may swallow or get on your skin or in your eye.

The Poison Control Centre will evaluate your situation, tell you how to get to the closest hospital, and even call the hospital to tell them you are on the way.

SANTÉ PUBLIQUE ET AUTRES SERVICES

Les programmes de santé publique offerts dans la grande région de Québec répondent à de nombreux besoins de la population anglophone dans les domaines de la prévention de la maladie et de la promotion de la santé. De nombreux programmes de santé communautaire sont offerts par les Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale.

En outre, les Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale collaborent avec la Direction régionale de santé publique à diverses campagnes (vaccination contre la grippe, dépistage du cancer du sein, etc.) en contribuant à informer la communauté anglophone.

8-1-1 Info-Santé

Le 8-1-1 est un excellent moyen d’obtenir de l’information sur les services de santé et les services sociaux, 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept. Par exemple, si vous vous demandez si vous devez vous rendre à une salle d’urgence ou à une clinique médicale, vous pouvez parler à une infirmière d’Info-Santé qui vous aidera dans votre décision.

Les raisons d’appeler Info-Santé sont nombreuses : fièvre, maux d’oreilles, nausées, rhumes, difficulté à dormir, soins à donner à un enfant ou à un membre de la famille, etc.

Ce service est offert dans l’ensemble de la province, en anglais et en français.

9-1-1 Services d’urgence

Le 9-1-1 est le meilleur moyen d’obtenir rapidement une aide en cas d’urgence (urgence médicale, incendie, police). Toutefois, dans la grande région de Québec, les téléphonistes du 9-1-1 ne parlent pas tous anglais.

Les services du 9-1-1 sont assurés par une organisation privée sans but lucratif (et non un organisme public). Ils ne figurent donc pas dans le programme d’accès à des services de santé et des services sociaux en langue anglaise. Néanmoins, nous n’avons pas eu connaissance de situations dans la grande région de Québec où des anglophones ayant fait appel au 9-1-1 auraient eu de la difficulté à obtenir des services en anglais.

Centre antipoison

Le 1-800-463-5060 est le numéro à composer pour joindre le Centre antipoison du Québec. Ce service est accessible sans frais 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept, en cas d’empoisonnement aigu.

On vous informe en anglais ou en français sur les poisons et les antidotes disponibles. L’empoisonnement peut être causé par des médicaments, des plantes ou des produits de nettoyage avalés ou reçus dans les yeux ou sur la peau.

Le Centre antipoison évalue votre situation, vous conseille sur le moyen de vous rendre à l’hôpital le plus près et appelle même l’hôpital pour l’informer que vous vous y rendez.