Our History Shapes Our Future

Back in 1856, Reverend Father Bernard McGauran founded Saint Brigid's Home as a shelter for Irish immigrants, widows and orphans. A few years later, in 1865, Jeffery Hale left money in his will to establish a hospital to care for sick and disabled protestants.

While they were of different faiths, these two men had some very important traits in common; remarkable foresight and a shared vision of compassion and caring.

Our founders' legacy of forward thinking and compassion continued in April 2007 when these esteemed institutions joined forces to become Jeffery Hale – Saint Brigid's.  In uniting, we have created a solid organization that is a positive force in the local health system, especially when it comes to meeting the needs of the English-speaking population.

In April 2015, our institution began a new chapter in its 150-year history by being grouped with the Centre intégré universitaire en santé et services sociaux de la Capitale-Nationale.

History of Jeffery Hale

Jeffery Hale, son of John Hale and Elizabeth Amherst Hale, was born in Quebec in 1803. He was educated in England and was in the Royal Navy for ten years. During that time, inspired by his faith in a God who loves everyone equally, he began to question the morals and British policies of the time. His letters to his mother strongly expressed his distaste for the treatment by the English of Irish Catholics. He denounced the slave trade as an abomination and and was pondering the notion that war is a form of "legalized murder." Disillusioned, he left the Navy and returned to Quebec to assist his father, John Hale, Receiver General of Lower Canada. He did not succeed his father in this position, instead devoting much of his life to charitable works. At a time when English-speakers represented 40% of the population in Quebec City, Jeffery Hale established several primary schools for the underprivileged English class. He also founded Provident Bank and Savings and Free Quebec Chapel Sunday School, whose function was less to catechize the children than it was to educate working adults who had no other day off but Sunday. Today, he is known mainly for founding the Jeffery Hale Hospital, but he also founded Mount Hermon Cemetery. At a time when the Protestant churches were multiplying, he was Anglican evangelical who rallied against the exclusive and closed Anglican church; he wanted to assure that Protestants could be cared for and buried without regard to their particular religious affiliation. He died in England November 13, 1864. (Louisa Blair). From the site of the Société historique de Québec: Calendrier des vues anciennes de Québec, November 2014.

To learn more about Jeffery Hale, the philanthropist:

History of Saint Brigid’s Home

Father Bernard McGauran was born in Sligo, in the western province of Connacht, Ireland, on August 14, 1821. In the 1830’s, he immigrated to Quebec City with his father and mother and perhaps a brother. Like many Quebec Irish, he went to the college at Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière. He completed his studies at the Séminaire de Québec and was ordained in 1846 at the age of 35. One year later, he was sent to Grosse Ile to be in charge of the priests who were sent as chaplains to the sick and dying at this quarantine station that would see the arrival and death of thousands. He himself fell sick with typhus, returned to Quebec, recovered, and then went back to the island. In 1856, he succeeded Father James Nelligan at Saint Patrick's Church. He was able to continue the work of his predecessors, and almost right away saw to the opening of Saint Brigid’s Home to care for destitute Irish elderly, widows and orphans. He died in Goderich, Ontario, in 1882 and is buried in St. Patrick Cemetery, Sillery, in the family plot.  

To learn more about the history of Saint Brigid's Home and Father Bernard McGauran:

If you or a member of your family lived at Saint Brigid's when it was an orphanage and you would like us to search the records for you for confirmation, please use our contact us form. In the drop down menu in the DEPARTMENT box, please put OTHER. In the MESSAGE box, please provide as much information as you can, such as the person's first and last name at birth, date of birth, and the approximate year(s) that the person may have lived at Saint Brigid's.  We will search our files and book of admissions and departures that dates back to the early 1900's.  Please allow five to 10 working days for a response.

History of Jeffery Hale Community Services

Jeffery Hale Community Services in English, as it is called today, was actually founded in 1991 as Holland Centre.  Today, this Jeffery Hale program provides CLSC-type services to Quebec City's English-speaking community.

To learn more about the history of Jeffery Hale Community Services, please open a PDF version of a booklet entitled "I Dream - The Holland Centre Experience."

We're ready for the future

Always guided by our founders' values, Jeffery Hale – Saint Brigid's is well positioned to move into the future.   We will continue to strive to meet the ever-changing needs of those we serve, and the English-speaking community in particular.

NOTRE HISTOIRE FAÇONNE NOTRE AVENIR

En 1856, le révérend père Bernard McGauran fondait le Saint Brigid's Home, refuge pour les immigrants, les veuves et les orphelins irlandais. Quelques années plus tard, en 1865, Jeffery Hale léguait par testament une somme destinée à la fondation d’un hôpital pour les malades et les personnes handicapées protestants.

De confessions religieuses différentes, les deux hommes n’en partageaient pas moins des qualités importantes : une remarquable clairvoyance et une vision commune de la compassion et de l’entraide.

L’héritage de clairvoyance et de compassion de nos fondateurs continue d’évoluer. En avril 2007, le Saint Brigid’s Home et l’Hôpital Jeffery Hale ont uni leurs compétences en une même organisation solide qui renforce le système de santé de la région, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les besoins de la population anglophone.

En avril 2015, notre établissement a amorcé un nouveau chapitre dans son histoire en étant regroupé au Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de la Capitale-Nationale. 

Histoire du Jeffery Hale

Jeffery Hale, fils de John Hale et Elizabeth Amherst Hale, est né à Québec en 1803. Il reçoit son éducation en Angleterre et sert dix ans dans la marine britannique où, inspiré par sa foi dans un Dieu qui aime toute personne également, il commence à mettre en question les mœurs et les politiques anglaises de l’époque. Ses lettres à sa mère expriment vivement son dégoût pour le traitement que réservent les Anglais aux Irlandais catholiques. Il dénonce le commerce des esclaves comme une abomination et se demande si la guerre elle-même n’est pas en fait qu’un «meurtre légalisé». Désenchanté, il quitte la marine et retourne à Québec pour assister son père, John Hale, receveur général du Bas-Canada. Comme il ne succède pas à son père à ce poste, Jeffery Hale consacre une bonne partie de sa vie aux œuvres charitables. À une époque où les anglophones de Québec représentent 40 % de la population, Hale établit plusieurs écoles primaires pour les anglophones de la classe pauvre. Il fonde également la Banque de Prévoyance et d’Épargnes de Québec et la Free Chapel Sunday School, dont la fonction est moins de catéchiser les enfants que d’éduquer les travailleurs adultes qui n’ont pas d’autre journée libre que le dimanche. Aujourd’hui, il est connu comme le fondateur de l’hôpital Jeffery Hale, mais il est aussi celui du Mount Hermon Cemetery. Anglican évangélique à une époque où les églises protestantes se multiplient, il lutte contre une église anglicane exclusive et renfermée et souhaite que les protestants soient soignés et ensevelis sans égards à leur appartenance religieuse. Il meurt en Angleterre le 13 novembre 1864. (Louisa Blair). Extrait du site de la Société historique de Québec : Tiré du Calendrier des vues anciennes de Québec, novembre 2014.

Pour mieux connaître Jeffery Hale, philanthrope :

Histoire du Saint Brigid’s Home

Père Bernard McGauran est né à Sligo, dans la province occidentale de Connacht, en Irlande, le 14 août 1821. Dans les années 1830, il a immigré au Québec avec son père et sa mère et peut-être un frère. Comme beaucoup d'Irlandais au Québec, il est allé au collège de Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière. Il a terminé ses études au Séminaire de Québec et fut ordonné prêtre en 1846, à l'âge de 35 ans. Un an plus tard, il fut envoyé à Grosse-Île afin d'être responsable des prêtres envoyés comme aumôniers pour les malades et mourants de cette station de quarantaine qui verrait l'arrivée et la mort de milliers de personnes. Père Bernard McGauran attrapa lui-même le typhus, revint au Québec pour se soigner, puis retourna ensuite à l'île. En 1856, il succéda à Père James Nelligan à l'église Saint Patrick. Il fut en mesure de poursuivre le travail de ses prédécesseurs, et vu presque immédiatement l'ouverture de Saint Brigid's Home, ayant comme mission de prendre soin de personnes âgées irlandaises, de veuves et d'orphelins. Il est mort en 1882, à Goderich en Ontario, et est enterré dans le cimetière St Patrick, à Sillery, dans la parcelle familiale.

Pour connaître plus sur l’histoire du Saint Brigid’s Home et du père Bernard McGauran, vous pouvez consulter :

Si vous ou un membre de votre famille a vécu à Saint Brigid's lorsque c'était un orphelinat et que vous aimeriez que l'on fouille dans les dossiers pour vous afin de le confirmer, veuillez s'il vous plaît utiliser le formulaire nous joindre. Dans le menu déroulant de la boîte SERVICE, veuillez choisir l'option AUTRE SUJET. Dans la boîte de MESSAGE, merci de fournir autant d'informations que vous pouvez, comme le nom et prénom de la personne à la naissance, sa date de naissance et les années approximatives où la personne peut avoir vécu à Saint Brigid's. Nous allons chercher dans nos fichiers et livres des admissions et des départs qui remontent au début des années 1900.  S'il vous plaît, permettre de 5 à 10 jours ouvrables pour une réponse.

Histoire des Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale

La création des Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale, comme on les désigne aujourd’hui, remonte à 1991. Ils étaient alors connus sous le nom de Centre Holland. Désormais, ce programme du Jeffery Hale assure à la communauté anglophone de Québec la prestation de services du type CLSC.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire des Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale, consultez la version du livret intitulé « I Dream - Le Centre Holland ».

Prêt pour l’avenir

Toujours guidé par les valeurs de ses fondateurs, l’Hôpital Jeffery Hale – Saint Brigid's est en bonne position pour aborder l’avenir. Nous continuons de tout mettre en œuvre pour nous adapter à l’évolution des besoins de la population que nous servons et, plus particulièrement, de la communauté anglophone.