VOLUNTEERING IN ENGLISH AT JEFFERY HALE COMMUNITY SERVICES

Jeffery Hale Community Services is dedicated to providing top-quality care to the English-speaking community of the Quebec city region. Our community has a strong tradition of volunteering, and Jeffery Hale - Saint Brigid's is proof-positive of that fact; we simply could not offer the wide range of services that we do without the help of our caring volunteers.

In return for your volunteer time and dedication, we can offer you:

  • A pleasant and safe environment: Jeffery Hale – Saint Brigid's offers a well-organized, family-like atmosphere.  Our volunteers are covered by CSST for workers' compensation.
  • Proper supervision: If you have questions about your job duties, relations with clients, and so forth, our Community Organizer is always there to guide you and help make sure that your volunteer experience with us is positive.
  • An invitation to our annual volunteer appreciation event: A special event to say "thank you" to all our volunteers.  It is our way of returning the favour in a small way and a great way for you to meet other members of the community.
  • A letter of reference: We would be happy to provide a letter of reference stating that you volunteer with us.  This can be handy when applying for a job, a bursary, etc.
  • An opportunity to give a gift that lasts: As a Jeffery Hale - Saint Brigid's volunteer, you can meet new people, share your experience and learn from others, and help enrich our clients' quality of life.  It's a chance to be someone special.

Please read on for more details of exactly where we can use your time, talents and skills.

  • Day Centre: So many of our seniors look forward to attending this activity each week.  You can help brighten up their time at the day centre by baking a birthday cake from time to time or by setting tables, serving meals, eating with seniors and cleaning the kitchen up after lunch, thus freeing our professional staff to spend more quality time with our valued clients.
  • Bus Buddy: Each week, our Day Centre bus picks up seniors for a day of activities. Your presence on the bus helps reassure passengers when the driver gets off the bus to help other clients out of their homes and onto the bus.
  • Living Room: The goal of this program is to improve the quality of life for older adults with severe mobility, cognitive or memory loss and late-stage chronic disease. Your caring and calm one-on-one time with these clients also gives their caregivers the peace of mind to take a break.
  • Telephone Check In: Many of our older clients live alone and are insecure about their health or safety. These short calls every morning are reassuring - if they do not answer the phone, we send someone to check on them.
  • In-home Stimulation: If you attend CEGEP Champlain - St. Lawrence and would like to gain hands-on experience with the elderly, this is the program for you.  Student volunteers are trained to offer one-on-one a variety of stimulating in-home physical and recreational activities to seniors in need.
  • Vaccination Volunteer: Help greet the public who come in every year for their annual flu shot.

HOW TO REACH US

Please call Community Services, at 418 684-5333, ext. 1580, or use our contact us form to set up a meeting.

For information about other volunteer opportunities at JHSB, please visit the volunteering pages of our other sectors: 

Also, be sure to visit the website of the community Wellness Centre in the Jeffery Hale pavilion, managed by Jeffery Hale Community Partners, to learn more about the volunteer opportunities there for seniors and their caregivers, as well as for families with young children and for special needs clients.  They also offer the popular Chit Chat Club, at which English and French-speakers work each month on a variety of interesting tasks while conversing in small groups.

LE BÉNÉVOLAT AUX SERVICES COMMUNAUTAIRES DE LANGUE ANGLAISE JEFFERY HALE

Les Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale s’emploient à offrir des services de première qualité à la communauté anglophone de la région de Québec. Cette communauté a une forte tradition de bénévolat et le Jeffery Hale - Saint Brigid's en fournit la preuve indubitable; nous ne pourrions tout simplement pas offrir un éventail de services aussi large que nous le faisons sans l’engagement de nos bénévoles.  

En échange de votre temps comme bénévole et de votre dévouement, nous vous offrons :

  • Un milieu agréable et sûr : Le Jeffery Hale – Saint Brigid's offre une atmosphère de type familiale bien organisée. L’indemnisation de nos bénévoles est assurée par la CSST.
  • Supervision adéquate : Si vous avez des questions sur vos tâches, les relations avec les clients, ou sur tout autre sujet, notre coordonatrice au bénévolat est toujours présent pour vous encadrer et vous aider à rendre votre expérience de bénévolat avec nous la plus positive possible.
  • Une invitation à notre événement annuel de reconnaissance des bénévoles : Un événement spécial pour dire « merci » à tous nos bénévoles. C’est notre façon de faire un petit geste pour vous remercier et l’événement est un excellent moyen de rencontrer d’autres membres de la communauté.
  • Une lettre de recommandation : Nous serions heureux de vous fournir une lettre de recommandation indiquant que vous êtes un bénévole chez nous. Cette lettre peut être pratique pour postuler un emploi, une bourse, etc.
  • Une occasion de donner un cadeau durable : En tant que bénévole du Jeffery Hale - Saint Brigid's, vous pouvez rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, partager votre expérience et apprendre des autres, en plus de contribuer à enrichir la qualité de vie de nos clients. C’est une occasion de faire quelque chose de spécial.

Voici plus de précisions à propos des besoins que nous avons de votre temps, de vos talents et de vos compétences :

  • Centre de jour : Les personnes âgées sont nombreuses à attendre avec impatience cette activité hebdomadaire. Vous pouvez contribuer à égayer leur journée au centre en préparant à l’occasion un gâteau d’anniversaire, en servant les repas que vous partagez avec eux et en nettoyant la cuisine après le dîner. Ainsi, nos professionnels peuvent consacrer plus de temps de qualité avec nos précieux usagers.
  • Appel téléphonique matinal : Nombre de nos usagers plus âgés vivent seuls et s’inquiètent de leur santé ou de leur sécurité. Un bref appel dans la bonne humeur contribue à leur sécurité. S’ils ne répondent pas au téléphone, nous envoyons quelqu’un vérifier ce qu’il en est.
  • Stimulation à domicile : Si vous étudiez au cégep Champlain - St. Lawrence et souhaiteriez avoir une expérience pratique auprès des aînés, ce programme est pour vous. Les étudiants bénévoles reçoivent une formation pour offrir à domicile des activités physiques et récréatives de stimulation individuelle aux personnes âgées isolées.
  • Vaccination : Aider à accueillir le public qui vient chaque année pour leur vaccin antigrippal annuel.

POUR NOUS JOINDRE

Communiquez avec les Services communautaires au 418 684-5333, poste 1580, ou utilisez le formulaire Nous joindre pour fixer un rendez-vous.

Pour plus de précisions sur les possibilités de bénévolat au sein de notre organisation, consultez les pages Devenir bénévole de nos autres secteurs :

Veuillez visiter aussi le site Internet des Partenaires communautaires Jeffery Hale (notre principal partenaire à but non lucratif) pour en savoir plus à propos des opportunités du bénévolat offertes au Centre de bien-être (Wellness) pour les aînés anglophones et leurs proches aidants, ainsi que pour les familles avec jeunes enfants, et pour les clients avec besoins spéciaux. Ils offrent également le populaire Chit Chat Club, à laquelle les anglophones et francophones se réunissent chaque mois pour travailler à une variété de tâches intéressantes tout en conversant en petit groupe.