Early childhood services

There is no more important job than being a parent.

Jeffery Hale Community Services has a range of services for parents with children age four and under to support you and put you in touch with other English-speaking parents living in the area.

Pre and post-natal care

  • OLO program – provides pregnant women who have limited income with coupons for free eggs, orange juice, milk and vitamins and follow-up by a nurse, dietitian or social worker.  
  • Prenatal classes – Offered in a group or online. Topics include lifestyle during pregnancy; becoming parents; labour and delivery; feeding a newborn; caring for a newborn; and the return home.  For group classes, we partner with Valcartier Family Services, 418 844-5000.  To obtain an access code for the virtual online classes, please call Jeffery Hale Community Services.
  • Prenatal clinic – A place to talk with a nurse about your worries and needs around your pregnancy, delivery, breast feeding and bringing your baby home for the first time. Once you have a prescription from your doctor, call us to set up your visit to the clinic. Our nurse will do any blood tests that your doctor prescribes. She will help you connect with your birthing centre, give you a “From Tiny Tot to Toddler” guide and suggest other services to meet your needs.
  • Postnatal home visits – Our perinatal nurse will visit after the birth of your baby to make sure that your new family is healthy and doing well. 
  • Postpartum Depression Screening – A new baby can affect a woman in ways that are not always positive. By taking a quiz of 10 short questions, our perinatal nurse can make sure that everything is going well for new mothers and offer specialised help when needed. Take a look at the introduction letter that is sent out with the quiz to new mothers who are being followed by our perinatal nurse.
  • SIPPE program – promotes the health and wellbeing of families in difficulty from pregnancy until the child is school age.

Parental know-how

  • Documentation - The walls of our reception area are lined with pamphlets just for parents.
  • Letters to Daddy programme – This series of letters helps dad understand what growing up feels like from his baby's point of view. Get a letter each month during the first year of your child's life. Take a look at a sample Letter to Daddy.

Other services in the community

Be sure to visit the website of Jeffery Hale Community Partners (our main partner from the non-profit sector) to learn more about the activities offered at the community Wellness Centre in the Jeffery Hale pavilion. 

How to reach us

For our more information on our Early Childhood services, please contact Community Services reception by phone at 418 684-5333, ext. 1580, or use our contact us form.

SERVICES À LA PETITE ENFANCE

Aucun rôle n'est plus important que celui de parent.

Les Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale offrent une gamme de services aux parents anglophones d'enfants de quatre ans ou moins pour les soutenir et les mettre en contact avec d'autres parents anglophones de la région.

Services prénataux et postnataux

  • Clinique prénatale: La clinique prénatale est un lieu privilégié pour discuter avec une infirmière des préoccupations et des besoins concernant la grossesse, la naissance, l'allaitement et le retour à la maison. L'infirmière profite de cette occasion pour faire les prélèvements sanguins requis pendant la grossesse et remettre le guide « Mieux vivre avec notre enfant ».
  • Cours prénataux – Offerts en groupe ou en ligne. Ils portent sur une variété de sujets, dont les habitudes de vie pendant la grossesse, devenir parent, le travail et l'accouchement, l'alimentation du nouveau-né, les soins à donner au nouveau-né et le retour à la maison. Pour les classes de groupes, nous avons une entente avec le Centre de la Famille Valcartier, que vous pouvez joindre au 418 844-5000. Pour recevoir votre code d'accès pour les classes en lignes, veuillez appeler les Services communautaires de langue anglaise Jeffery Hale.
  • Dépistage de la dépression post-partum – L'arrivée d'un nouveau-né représente un grand changement dans la vie d'une femme, avec parfois des effets inattendus et pas toujours positifs. Avec un bref questionnaire d'une dizaine de questions, notre infirmière en périnatalité peut s'assurer que tout va bien pour la mère et, au besoin, lui offrir une aide spécialisée lors des visites de suivi.
  • Programme SIPPE SIPPE favorise la santé et le bien-être des familles en difficulté depuis la grossesse jusqu'à ce que l'enfant atteigne cinq ans.
  • Projet OLO – OLO pour « Oranges, Lait et Oeufs ». Le programme OLO offre, aux futures mamans, ces supplémentaires alimentaires quotidiens pendant les vingt-huit dernières semaines de la grossesse. Pour plus de précisions, veuillez visiter le site du CSSS de la Vieille-Capitale.
  • Visites prénatales et postnatales à domicile sont assurées par une infirmière en périnatalité avant et après la naissance du bébé pour vérifier que la famille se porte et s'adapte bien.  

Le savoir-faire des parents

  • Documentation – À la réception du centre, nos présentoirs muraux sont bordés de brochures juste pour les parents.
  • Le programme Lettres à papa – Un ensemble de lettres aide les pères à comprendre ce que grandir implique du point de vue du bébé. Vous recevez une lettre par mois pendant la première année de votre enfant. Voir l'exemple d'une Lettre à papa.

Autres services pour la communauté anglophone

Veuillez visiter le site Internet des Partenaires communautaires Jeffery Hale (notre principal partenaire du secteur sans but lucratif) pour en savoir plus à propos des activités offertes au centre de bien-être (Wellness) pour la communauté d'expression anglaise, dans le pavillon Jeffery Hale.

Pour nous joindre

Pour plus de précisions sur nos programmes en petite enfance, communiquez avec la réception des Services communautaires au 418-684-5333, poste 1580, ou utilisez le formulaire Nous joindre.